Motor Vehicle Help
The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles provides interactive help to answer your questions.
Motor Vehicles - General
Why were motor vehicle fees changed?
New fees were established in 2014 by the Florida Legislature. These fees are not created or controlled by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the Constitutional Tax Collector, or your local tag agent.
Who receives the fees for my driver license and motor vehicle transactions?
The fees are primarily used to fund the Department of Education (to teach Florida children), the Department of Transportation (to build roads and bridges) and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (to run the Florida Highway Patrol, Division of Driver Licenses and Division of Motor Vehicles).
Do I save money with the “Renew for 2” program?
No. But you will save valuable time. To avoid office visits completely, please visit our website payment center to renew car and boat registrations, local business tax receipts or pay property taxes.
What happens if the Florida Legislature increases or decreases fees before my 2 year registration expires?
No refunds are issued if the new fees are lower and no bills are sent if the new fees are higher.
What happens if I sell my car before my 2 year renewal is due?
Simple. We will transfer the registration and plate to your new car as long as it has not expired. If you are not purchasing a new vehicle, cancel your registration by returning the license plate to our office (no refunds will be issued).
What happens if I move out of Florida before my 2 year registration renewal expires?
No refunds are issued. You may cancel your registration by returning the license plate to our office.
What do I do if I change insurance companies?
Check the vehicle ID number on your new insurance card to ensure that it matches the vehicle ID number on your registration. If it is correct, your new insurance company will update your information with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If it is not correct, DHSMV will not recognize that you have insurance and send a suspension warning to you. Contact your insurance company to correct the vehicle ID number on your insurance card, if necessary.
How do I get a disabled parking permit?
Learn more about disabled parking permits>>
How do I purchase a personalized license plate?
Application for Personalized License Plate, Form HSMV 83039 may be submitted in person or by mail to our main office.
How many characters can be on a personalized license plate?
License plates with a center logo design such as the basic Florida license plate or the Save the Manatee license plate, may have up to 7 characters plus either a space or a hyphen. License plates with a left-side logo design such as collegiate and sports license plates may have up to 5 characters with no additional space or hyphen.
Can I transfer my existing Florida license plate to a new vehicle?
Yes, but only after completing an official transfer at the Tax Collector's Office. If you can provide proof that the vehicle from which you are taking the plate was in your name, and has been traded, sold or disposed of, the $225 Initial Registration fee may be waived.
How do I purchase a military license plate?
These license plates are issued only to individuals who meet a certain criteria. For example, to be eligible for a Medal of Honor license plate, the individual must submit proof from the U.S. Government that they were awarded the Medal of Honor. All military license plates, except Medal of Honor, Silver Star, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, Air Force Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross and World War Two Veteran are available at your local tax collector's office.
Medal of Honor, Silver Star, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross , Air Force Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross and World War Two Veteran applications and renewals must be sent to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Title and Registration Issuance
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS72
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0620
Military license plates can be issued for use only on the following type vehicles:
- Automobile (Private or Lease)
- Motor home or truck camper which are not "for hire" or "commercial" use
- Trucks for private use with a net weight 7,999 lbs. or less
I am an amateur radio operator. How do I get an amateur radio license plate for my vehicle?
License plates may be issued on automobiles (private or lease), trucks weighing 7,999 pounds or less and all recreational vehicle type units. Cost is an additional $5 annual fee for each original Amateur Radio license plate and $1.50 each year thereafter. Application may be submitted at any time during the year with a copy of the amateur radio license issued by the FCC and proof of Florida insurance at one of our full service center locations.
The manufacturer has 45 calendar days (from the date the order is received by manufacturer, not the date the license plate was ordered at the service center. License plates are issued for the current registration period unless application is made during the advance registration period (3 months preceding the owner's birth month or designated registration period). When application is made during the advance registration period and full registration tax is paid, the license plate will expire the following year.
Motor Vehicle Fleet
Can I drop off motor vehicle fleet registration renewal notices and pick them up at any Palm Beach County Tax Collector service center?
Yes, renewals may be picked up from the same service center where they are dropped off.
Do I have to send in separate checks for each motor vehicle fleet registration renewal notice?
No, you may submit one check for all fleet renewals. Remember, if any fleet vehicles were replaced and you did not receive a renewal notice for the new fleet vehicle, you need to contact our office for new fees.
Do I need to complete the Insurance Affidavit on each fleet registration renewal notice?
No, provided you submit a copy of the motor vehicle fleet insurance card with all fleet registration renewal notices.
What if I did not receive a registration renewal notice for all fleet vehicles?
Call our office at (561)355-2622 or visit an office and speak with a Client Relations Guide. Please have the license plate or VIN number(s) of the fleet vehicle(s) ready for reference.
What if I no longer own a fleet vehicle for which I was sent a registration renewal notice?
If you no longer own a fleet vehicle that you received a renewal notice for, please return the notice with a completed Notice of Sale (Form HSMV 82050).
More questions? Please feel free to contact us at (561) 355-2622
Florida Department of Financial Services/Department of Insurance
Florida Crime Information Center – Public Access System (PAS). Provided by Department of Law Enforcement - Stolen Vehicles Search
Palm Beach County Consumer Affairs Division – Towing Regulations
Safety Council of Palm Beach County, Inc. – Traffic ticket courses and car seat programs
Sharon R. Bock, Clerk & Comptroller Palm Beach County – Traffic Violations