Lower Fees For Motorists
Tax Collector Urges Awareness Before Effective Date
WEST PALM BEACH - Anne M. Gannon, Constitutional Tax Collector, reports that effective September 1, 2014, motorists will pay less for vehicle and mobile home registrations, depending on the size of their vehicle. Many vehicle owners will save $20 to $25 in fees. That’s because the Florida legislature voted to a rollback of vehicle-registration fees they increased in 2009.
Gannon welcomes the rollback and has a caution for vehicle owners about a section of the legislation that specifically excludes over 756,000 motor vehicle owners in Florida: owners who renewed their tag for a two year period prior to the effective date of September 1. “I’m alerting all motorists about this exclusion. Anyone renewing for two years before September 1, 2014 will not benefit from the registration fee reduction. This legislation also prohibits any refunds for higher fees paid before the September 1st effective date.”
The Legislature passed Senate Bill 156 referred to as the “fee rollback legislation.” The bill was signed into law by the Governor on April 2nd. Early projections claim that motorists will save over $395 million a year. Consumers with questions about the legislation should contact their state representative or senator.
# # #
|Contact:||Anne Gannon, Constitutional Tax Collector|