Motor Vehicle Fee Reduction
Effective September 1, 2014 motorists will pay less for vehicle, vessel and mobile home registrations. Many vehicle owners will save $20 to $25 in fees. That’s because the Florida legislature voted to a rollback of vehicle registration fees they increased in 2009.
The Florida Legislature passed Senate Bill 156 referred to as the “fee rollback legislation” during the 2014 session. The bill was signed into law on April 2. Early projections claim that motorists will save over $395 million a year. Consumers with questions about the legislation should contact their State Representative or Senator.
*Motor vehicle registrations expire midnight of the first listed owner’s birthdate, unless it is registered in a business name.